Guide · Pricing
OpusClip credits explained: what one podcast episode really costs on every AI clip tool
OpusClip credits, Vizard credits, Quso credits and ClipPod credits all mean the same thing: one credit is one minute of the episode you upload. So the number that matters is not the monthly price. It is what one episode costs, and how many episodes fit before the plan runs out.
Opus Clip credits explained, in one line: one credit is one minute of source video, on OpusClip, Vizard, Quso and ClipPod alike. A 60-minute episode costs 60 credits at upload, whether you keep one clip or thirty.
A 60-minute episode costs about $3 to $6 on each tool's best-value monthly plan, and up to $17 on the wrong entry plan. On OpusClip's $15 Starter plan it is $6.00 and the plan covers two and a half episodes a month. See the ClipPod credit pricing page for our side: $4.80 an episode on the $12 plan, $3.45 on the $69 plan.
Expiry and rollover decide the real bill. OpusClip's monthly credits expire after 60 days. ClipPod banks unused credits up to three months and refunds a failed analysis automatically.
AI clipping tool pricing comparison
On monthly billing, a 60-minute episode costs $2.90 on Vizard's Creator plan, the cheapest here, then $3.45 on ClipPod Studio and $3.60 on Munch Premium. The most expensive way to clip one episode is Quso's $29 Lite plan at $17.40, because 100 credits cover under two hours a month.
The table shows two plans per tool: the one you can start on, and the one with the most minutes per dollar. The per-episode figure assumes you use the whole allowance.
| Tool | Entry plan | Per minute | Best-value plan | Per minute | Per 60-min episode, best value | Unused credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ClipPod | Starter $12 / 150 | 8.0¢ | Studio $69 / 1,200 | 5.8¢ | $3.45 | Bank up to 3× the monthly amount while subscribed |
| Vizard | Creator $29 / 600 | 4.8¢ | Creator $29 / 600 | 4.8¢ | $2.90 | Not stated |
| Munch | Essential $38 / 500 | 7.6¢ | Premium $60 / 1,000 | 6.0¢ | $3.60 | Not stated |
| OpusClip | Starter $15 / 150 | 10.0¢ | Pro $29 / 300 | 9.7¢ | $5.80 | Expire after 60 days on monthly plans |
| Quso.ai | Lite $29 / 100 | 29.0¢ | Growth $49 / 600 | 8.2¢ | $4.90 | Not stated |
| Klap | Basic $14 (billed yearly) / 100 clips | n/a | Billed per clip | n/a | Not stated | |
| Submagic | Starter $19 / 15 videos | n/a | Billed per output video | n/a | Not stated | |
How we compared: monthly-billing prices from each vendor's pricing page on 7 September 2026, except Klap, which only shows a yearly-billed price. ClipPod is in the table because we make it, and its row is measured the same way as the rest. Vizard's list price is $29 and the $14.50 it advertises is the annual rate; it sells larger credit tiers whose prices are not published in crawlable form, so only Creator is shown. Quso's annual plans double the credits at a lower price.
How AI clip tool credits work: 1 credit = 1 minute of your episode
One credit is one minute of the video you upload, on almost every tool. Pricing pages lead with the monthly price; the meter is in the small print, and it is nearly always this one.
- OpusClip's help centre says processing clips costs one credit per minute of the original video imported.
- Quso says one credit is roughly one minute of processed video.
- Vizard's pricing page says one credit equals one minute of video.
- Munch sells minutes of video repurposing per month.
- ClipPod says it the same way: one credit equals one minute of episode analysed.
So a 60-minute episode costs 60 credits or minutes everywhere. A weekly show that records an hour needs 240 a month. A show that records ninety minutes needs 360. Write your own number down before you look at any plan, because most entry plans do not reach it, and the cost calculator further down this page will do the arithmetic for you.
Two tools meter something else. Klap sells a number of clips per month, and Submagic sells credits that map to output videos with a two-minute cap each. Those can be cheaper if you post three clips a week and never want a fourth, and more expensive when a good episode gives you twelve. They are left out of the per-episode columns because the cost of one episode depends on how many clips you take from it, and both are reviewed in our round-up of podcast clip makers.
Editor-first tools sit outside this comparison entirely. Descript and Riverside sell an editing or recording subscription rather than credits per source minute. Async (formerly Podcastle) is a general video maker with a clips feature, and Podsqueeze works from the transcript, turning it into show notes, titles, audiograms and chapter-export clips. None of them has a per-episode meter to line up against the tools above.
How many credits does OpusClip use per video?
OpusClip uses one credit per minute of the video you import, charged when processing starts. Three worked examples:
- A 45-minute interview episode uses 45 credits. On the Starter plan's 150, that leaves 105, enough for two more of the same length.
- A 60-minute weekly episode uses 60 credits. Four a month need 240, which is more than Starter's 150 and fits inside Pro's 300 with 60 to spare.
- A two-hour live show uses 120 credits. One of them takes 80 percent of a Starter month.
The number of clips you export does not change the bill. Sixty minutes is sixty credits whether you keep three clips or thirty.
OpusClip pricing plans and credits
| OpusClip plan | Monthly price | Credits per month | 60-min episodes | Per 60-min episode | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Not stated | — | — | Watermark, 1080p, 3-day storage |
| Starter | $15 | 150 | 2.5 | $6.00 | Credits expire after 60 days |
| Pro | $29 | 300 | 5 | $5.80 | Credits expire after 60 days |
| Max / Business | Custom | 1,500 per pack | 25 | — | No public price |
Prices from opus.pro/pricing and credit counts from OpusClip's help centre article "How are credits consumed", both checked 7 September 2026. The pricing page itself lists features without the credit counts.
Do OpusClip credits expire?
Yes, OpusClip's monthly-plan credits expire after 60 days. Its help centre says they roll over for one extra month and then disappear. Annual credits arrive all at once and expire after twelve months.
On cancellation, remaining credits keep their original expiry date. If you skip a month of recording, the credits you paid for that month are gone by the month after next.
What $29 a month buys on each AI clipping tool
At $29 a month, Vizard gives 600 minutes of credits, ClipPod 400 and OpusClip 300, the same price for very different allowances. Three tools have a plan at exactly $29, and it is the tier a weekly show ends up on. On OpusClip vs Vizard pricing at $29, the same money clips twice as much.
| Tool | Plan at $29 | Minutes per month | 60-min episodes | Per episode, full allowance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vizard | Creator | 600 | 10 | $2.90 |
| ClipPod | Creator | 400 | 6.7 | $4.35 |
| OpusClip | Pro | 300 | 5 | $5.80 |
| Quso.ai | Lite | 100 | 1.7 | $17.40 |
Podcast clip cost calculator
Enter your usual episode length and how many you publish a month. The table shows the cheapest plan that fits on each tool and what that makes each episode cost.
| Tool | Plan that fits | Monthly | Per episode |
|---|---|---|---|
| ClipPod | Creator (400 min) | $29.00 | $7.25 |
| OpusClip | Pro (300 min) | $29.00 | $7.25 |
| Vizard | Creator (600 min) | $29.00 | $7.25 |
| Munch | Essential (500 min) | $38.00 | $9.50 |
| Quso.ai | Essential (300 min) | $39.00 | $9.75 |
Plans in the calculator, monthly billing: ClipPod Starter $12 / 150, Creator $29 / 400, Studio $69 / 1,200. OpusClip Starter $15 / 150, Pro $29 / 300 (Max has no public price). Vizard Creator $29 / 600 (larger tiers unpublished). Munch Essential $38 / 500, Premium $60 / 1,000. Quso Lite $29 / 100, Essential $39 / 300, Growth $49 / 600. When no checked plan covers the month, the row says so instead of guessing.
Four pricing rules that change your bill
1. Credits are spent at upload, not at download
Uploading a 60-minute episode costs 60 minutes on every tool in the table before you have seen a single clip. If the tool finds nothing usable, the credits are still gone on most of them. ClipPod refunds the credits automatically if the analysis fails, and says so on its pricing and credit FAQ page and in its terms of service. Check whether the tool you are comparing says anything at all.
2. Expiry is the quiet cost
A monthly plan looks cheap if you use every minute every month. Podcasters do not record evenly. A two-week break with credits that expire after 60 days means paying for minutes you never spent. ClipPod banks unused credits up to three times the plan's monthly amount for as long as you stay subscribed, so a quiet month pays for a busy one. Most other pricing pages say nothing on rollover.
3. What the second clip costs
Per-minute tools include every clip the first analysis finds, so a rich episode is free money. Per-clip tools charge for each one. The difference shows up on the episode that turns out great.
On ClipPod the first analysis delivers every clip worth posting, with the best rendered immediately and the rest free to render whenever you like. For that episode the first clips were back 13 minutes after the link was pasted. Asking for a new cut of a clip you want changed costs one credit per version you approve, and previewing the change is free.
4. What the free tier puts on your clip
Free plans exist to be seen. Vizard's free exports are 720p with a watermark and a ten-minute export cap. OpusClip's free tier is watermarked. ClipPod's free clips end with a short ClipPod card after the clip rather than a mark over the picture, and any paid plan removes the card. If you plan to post free-tier clips, watch one all the way through before you decide.
Is OpusClip worth it for a podcast?
OpusClip is worth it for a solo host who clips from several sources and wants the widest input list. It is a harder case for a two-host podcast on a weekly schedule.
Per episode it is the most expensive of the minute-metered tools at $5.80 on Pro. Its monthly credits expire after 60 days. Its site names no two-speaker layout, so a two-host show gets a single crop that follows one person.
If those three things describe your show, the same $29 buys 400 minutes on ClipPod with credits that bank, or 600 on Vizard.
Price is only half the question. The rest is which tool picks the moments you would have picked, which we work through in the guide to the best podcast clip makers.
Which plan for a weekly one-hour podcast?
- If you publish four hour-long episodes a month, you need 240 minutes. The $12 to $15 entry plans at ClipPod and OpusClip stop at 150. The plan that fits is $29 on ClipPod Creator, OpusClip Pro and Vizard Creator, so those four episodes cost $7.25 each on all three. What differs is the headroom: 400, 300 and 600 minutes respectively.
- If you publish two or fewer, an entry plan is enough. ClipPod Starter at $12 covers two and a half; OpusClip Starter at $15 the same. Quso's Lite plan at $29 covers under two.
- If you record more than 400 minutes a month, read the per-minute column. ClipPod Studio at $69 for 1,200 minutes and Munch Premium at $60 for 1,000 are the two big allowances with a public price, at $3.45 and $3.60 an episode. Vizard sells larger tiers on top of Creator but does not publish those prices in a form we could check.
- If your recording schedule is uneven, weigh rollover more than price. Three banked months on ClipPod turn a quiet August into a free September.
These tables measure the meter, not the clips. The next question is whether both hosts end up in the frame, which is covered in how to make a split-screen podcast clip.
AI clip tool pricing FAQ
- How many credits does OpusClip use per video?
- One credit per minute of the video you import, charged at processing. A 60-minute episode uses 60 credits, and the number of clips you export does not change that. Starter includes 150 credits a month and Pro includes 300, per OpusClip's help centre article on how credits are consumed.
- Do OpusClip credits expire?
- Yes. On monthly plans they expire after 60 days, so they roll over one extra month and then disappear. On annual plans the full year's credits arrive at once and expire after twelve months. If you cancel, remaining credits keep the expiry date they already had rather than ending at once.
- Do unused OpusClip credits roll over?
- For one month only. Monthly credits stay valid for 60 days, which is the current month plus the next, then they are gone. ClipPod is the other rule in this comparison: unused credits bank up to three times the plan's monthly amount while you stay subscribed. Vizard, Quso and Munch state no rollover rule.
- How much does OpusClip cost per month?
- Starter is $15 a month for 150 credits and Pro is $29 for 300, on monthly billing as of 7 September 2026. That works out at $6.00 and $5.80 per 60-minute episode. Business pricing is custom. Annual billing is cheaper per month; check the toggle on the pricing page.
- What does Vizard cost per month?
- Vizard's Creator plan lists at $29 a month for 600 credits, which is 600 minutes of source video, or ten 60-minute episodes at $2.90 each. Paid annually it is $14.50 a month, billed as $174 a year. The free tier gives 60 credits a month at 720p with a watermark.
- What happens if I run out of credits before the month ends?
- We have not verified overage or top-up behaviour for the tools in this comparison, so treat it as unchecked and confirm with the vendor. The one fact we do have: OpusClip sells Max credit packs of 1,500 credits, with no public price. The safe move is to size the plan for your busiest month.
- Do I get charged again to download a clip?
- Not on ClipPod, where downloads are free and unlimited. On other tools, check whether the export step consumes credits or is capped by plan. Submagic and Klap meter output rather than input, so exports are the thing being counted, and Vizard's free tier caps exports at ten minutes.
- What is the cheapest AI clipping tool per episode?
- On monthly billing, Vizard's Creator plan at $2.90 per 60-minute episode, then ClipPod Studio at $3.45 and Munch Premium at $3.60. At the $29 price point, Vizard gives 600 minutes, ClipPod 400 and OpusClip 300. Per-clip tools like Klap and Submagic cannot be ranked this way, because their cost depends on clip count.
- Is annual billing worth it on an AI clip tool?
- Only if the credits you do not use survive. Annual plans cost 30 to 50 percent less per month, but on tools where credits expire monthly you are pre-paying for months you may skip. Look up the rollover rule first. Quso is the outlier worth checking: its annual plans cost about a third less and double the credits.
- Can I try a full episode for free?
- ClipPod gives new accounts 60 credits and never-subscribed accounts 30 a month, which is one hour-long episode at signup. OpusClip and Vizard have free tiers with a watermark, and Vizard's is 60 credits a month. Quso's free tier is 75 credits a month at 720p. Klap shows no free plan and Submagic offers a trial only.
One hour-long episode, $4.80, every clip included
- One credit per minute of the episode, from $12 a month; $3.45 an episode on Studio
- Every clip found is included; downloads free and unlimited
- Unused credits bank up to three months; a failed analysis refunds itself
60 free credits at signup, no card needed.
- OpusClip pricing: opus.pro/pricing (Starter $15, Pro $29, Business custom). Credit rule, per-plan credits and expiry: help.opus.pro, "How are credits consumed".
- Vizard pricing: vizard.ai/pricing (credit rule and 7,200 credits/year on the page; prices load client-side, list $29 and annual $14.50 confirmed against dated snapshots at creatorintelhq.com and ezugc.ai).
- Munch pricing: getmunch.com/pricing, redirecting to munchstudio.com/pricing (Essential, Premium).
- Quso.ai pricing: quso.ai/pricing (Lite, Essential, Growth; annual plans double credits).
- Klap pricing: klap.app/pricing. Submagic pricing: submagic.co/pricing.
- ClipPod pricing and terms: clippod.app/pricing, clippod.app/terms.